Wayne’s World (1992)

Wayne’s World

★ ★ ★ 1/2 out of 5

Directed by Penelope Spheeris

Starring Mike Myers as Wayne

Dana Carvey as Garth

Rob Lowe as Benjamin

Tia Carrere as Cassandra

Imdb Link

Wayne and Garth, two college age slackers who run a no budget cable access show out of Wayne’s parents’ basement, are contacted by a TV producer, Benjamin, who wants to buy their show off of them and make it into a big advertisement.

I’ve never seen any of the original SNL skits that Wayne’s World is based on, so this is my first exposure to Wayne’s World all together. I gotta say, it’s a pretty damn hilarious movie, with some good characters, quotable lines, and creative fourth wall breaking. I really like Mike Myers work on Austin Powers, he plays one of the funniest characters of all time flawlessly in that film. I thought his portrayal of Wayne in this didn’t quite live up to his Austin Powers, but it was still pretty hilarious. I mean, yeah, it was very over exaggerated at times, and occasionally crosses the line between funny and bad, but I really liked Mike Myers portrayal of Wayne. I also love seeing that Myers wrote a lot of drafts of the screenplay. You can tell a lot of Myers humor in the script, like the product placement scene, or all of the fourth wall breaks in general. It feels very uniquely like Mike Myers. Some of the jokes were misses for me, but overall I thought that the writing was funny. The script has dull patches, where nothing interesting happens, then there are times when you get amazing lines like “If Benjamin were an ice cream, he’d be pralines and dick.” that have you quoting them for weeks (I know I’ll be using that one a lot. God damn Benjamin.) And then there’s times when you don’t even know what’s going on and it just has you cringing. Like the very end where they do three separate ends. Which just felt… over stretched, unnecessary and ambiguous for no good reason. Still, Wayne’s World is very good for a laugh, and is one of the better SNL spinoffs I’ve seen. It may not ever reach excellence. But it’s not bad at all.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

